The Fédération Internationale de Natation (FINA) was founded 19 July 1908 during the Olympic Games in London (GBR). Eight national federations were responsible for the formation of FINA: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary and Sweden.

Since 1973, FINA organises World Championships with a programme that includes Swimming, Diving, High Diving, Water Polo, Synchronised Swimming and Open Water Swimming. The next editions will take place in Budapest (HUN, 2017) and Gwangju (KOR, 2019).

FINA and its aquatic disciplines are also a pillar of the Olympic Movement and give a decisive contribution to the success of the Games. Swimming is part of the Olympic programme since 1896, Water Polo became the first team sport in the Games in 1900, and Diving made its appearance in 1904. Eighty years later, in 1984, Synchronised Swimming joined the Olympic ‘club’, while Marathon Swimming (10km race for men and women) is included in the Olympic programme since 2008.

In September 2015, under the presidency of Dr. Julio C. Maglione, FINA comprises 207 National Member Federations in the five continents. The principal objectives are the following:

  • to promote and encourage the development of Aquatics in all possible regards throughout the world
  • to provide fair and drug-free sport
  • to promote and encourage the development of international relations
  • to encourage participation in Aquatics disciplines at all levels throughout the world regardless of age, gender or race
  • to adopt necessary uniform rules and regulations and to hold competitions in Swimming, Open Water Swimming, Diving, Water Polo, Synchronised Swimming, High Diving and Masters
  • to promote and organise World Championships and other FINA competitions
  • to encourage the increase of facilities for Aquatics’ disciplines throughout the world with the support of other interested parties
  • to carry out such other activities as may be desirable to promote the sport.

Today, FINA controls the development of the following aquatic events:

  • Swimming: freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, butterfly, medley, relays, mixed relays
  • Diving: springboard (1m, 3m), platform (10m), synchronised diving (3m and 10m), mixed and team events
  • High Diving: men (27m) and women (20m)
  • Water Polo: men and women
  • Synchronised Swimming: solo, duet, mixed duet, team and free combination
  • Open Water Swimming: 5km, 10km, 25km, team event

Official FINA Partners:


Message from the FINA President.

Event Partners